Mt. Binacayan – Rodriguez, Rizal

Mt. Binacayan – 424 MASL

Location: Brgy. Wawa, Rodriguez, Rizal, Philippines

Date: February 14, 2016

Level of Difficulty: 5/9

20160214_085759-01.jpeg

Introducing my MOTHER MOUNTAIN, Mt. Binacayan. Since then I am really in some kind of adventures and into travelling. This year (2016) I promised myself that I’ll make those dreams a reality. As I started to do the things I want, fist target is to do hiking.

It was last week of January when I discovered a traveling agency that offers a package climb going to Mt. Binacayan (yet I suggest you do DIY climbs, its much cheaper).

I decided to hike on Valentine’s Day. I just want to make that day extra special to me. You know, LDR moments. Good thing I got some friends who wants to experience this passion as well. Well thank you, Mitchyyy, Kuya Emman and Kuya Jhong. We survived 14th of February. HAHA

We started at around 5:30am and reached half of the trail after almost an hour. Since we’re beginners it took longer time for us to climb. Yet as we approached the summit I can feel a different excitement in my heart and in each hearts, maybe because on our way to the summit we already saw the sea of clouds of Mt. Binacayan and I swear I was so amazed.

20160214_063840-01

Mt. Binacayan, is a minor hike and really advisable for beginners. Its amazing rock formations and enticing view is really breath-taking. All hardships upon climbing was really worth it.

20160214_072152-01

20160214_062359-01

Its was great climb because I am not the only one who’s having fun. I can feel the happiness on my friends as well even though we are all exhausted yet we are excited to reach the summit.

After a long walk, finally!

20160214_085842-01

20160214_085941-01

As I reached the summit, I just told my self that “first time will never be the last”. The nature, mountain and everything about it captured my heart. It gave me all the reasons to climb again. How can you say no to this kind of beauty, right?

The fun was not yet finished at the summit, as we go down we also encountered a cute rock formation. I called it cute because its like a crinkles bread to me.

20160214_100242-01After experiencing going up, I can really say that the challenge is really when going down. I really make sure that I take one-step-at-a-time for me not to get hurt or anything.

Upon reaching the jump-off start once again, you can’t leave Wawa without experiencing their Wawa Dam.

We reach Wawa Dam at around 1:30pm. We took our lunch, swim and do the kayak as well.

20160214_134927-01

I’ll never forget my first hike. It was full of great memories.

20160214_160944-01

As what I have mentioned before, we avail packaged tour. So we spent 850php for the package. Yet I’ll show you guys a much cheaper way to hike Mt. Binacayan.

LET’S DO A DIY CLIMB.

Round Trip Van Fare from Farmer’s Cubao to Louver’s Montalban and vice versa – P100.00

Round Trip Tricycle fare from Louver’s to DENR Registration Site – P40.00

Share in guide for a maximum of 8 for a fee of- P500 – P62 (individual)

Donation to Barangay (Optional) – P10.00

Lunch in one of the Carenderias in the jump-off point. – P60.00, You can bring your own packed lunch too

Budget for Trail food and Bottled Water – P110.00

TOTAL = P382 – P400 for a safe budget

SUGGESTED CLIMBING ITINERARY

05:00 Take van from Farmer’s Cubao (Cubao MRT Station) via Eastwood to Rodriguez, Rizal
06:30 ETA Louver’s, Montalban, take tricycle or jeepney to Brgy. Wawa
06:50 Arrival at DENR Office for Registration and in Barangay Hall at Barangay Wawa
07:30 Start trek
09:00 Summit
10:00 Start descent
11:30 Back at DENR Office Barangay Wawa and take lunch in nearby carenderias
12:30 Swimming, Kayak at Wawa Dam
04:30 ETD DENR Office
06:30 Arrival at Farmer’s Cubao

It is very much advisable that you have to book in advance for the guides because, these mountains in Rodriguez like: Mounts Binacayan, Pamitinan, Ayaas and a couple others are now becoming the favorite mountains to climb more particularly during weekends and holidays as part of it you can see the contact number of our guide below.

GUIDES’ CONTACT NUMBERS

Kuya Archie – 09128055309

Happy Climbing!

♥ Princess

Leave a Reply

